Ministry of Earth Sciences
Government of India
Monday, 09 December 2019
10:58 AM IST
हिन्दी / Hindi

Visitors since 1st June

web directory
  Organisation Structure in IMD  
The Director General of Meteorology is the Head of the India Meteorological Department, with headquarters at New Delhi. There are 4 Additional Directors General at New Delhi and 1 at Pune. There are 20 Deputy Directors General of whom 10 are at New Delhi.

For the convenience of administrative and technical control, there are 6 Regional Meteorological Centres, each under a Deputy Director General with headquarters at Mumbai, Chennai, New Delhi, Calcutta, Nagpur and Guwahati. Under the administrative control of Deputy Director General, there are different types of operational units such as Meteorological Centres at state capitals, Forecasting Offices, Agrometeorological Advisory Service Centres, Flood Meteorological Offices, Area Cyclone Warning Centres and Cyclone Warning Centres.

In addition, there are separate Divisions to deal with specialised subjects. They are: -

  • Agricultural Meteorology
  • Civil Aviation
  • Climatology
  • Hydrometeorology
  • Instrumentation
  • Meteorological Telecommunication
  • Regional Specialised Meteorological Centre
  • Positional Astronomy
  • Satellite Meteorology
  • Seismology
  • Training
At present IMD is under the Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES).

Press Release
Conference / Workshop / Seminar
Tenders/ RFI/ EOI
Advertisements/ Notices
Other Related Links
Intra-IMD Portal
National Portal of India
आज का हिंदी शब्द

उद्धरण - मौसम विज्ञान शब्दावली
Disclaimer | Site Details |  Copyright © India Meteorological Department 2015
This Website belongs to India Meteorological Department, Ministry of Earth Sciences,Government of India